top of page

I can't believe this...


During my research on being Intersex I decided to look into intersex or DSD's (Disorders of Sex Development) within the UK medical profession.


When searching AIS (Androgen Insensitivity Syndrome), which my variation of Turners Syndrome falls into, on the NHS website I came across their section for 'Living with AIS' - and my jaw literally dropped.


This paragraph stood out for me:

Once you've decided [your child's gender], you can learn about the treatments that are available that can help make your child's body look more consistent with the chosen gender and help them develop more naturally.
This may involve surgery to alter the appearance or function of their genitals, and hormone treatment to encourage female or male development during puberty.

I couldn't for the life of me comprehend why they were promoting and highlighting genital reconstructive surgery as an option/treatment for AIS.


I got extremely angry and upset about this and thought that I needed to do something - so I decided to pop this on twitter:

This tweet went crazy - I was overwhelmed by the number of people sharing and commenting this tweet and that I wasn't alone in being upset and angry about seeing this content.


Following this I will keep checking to make sure this has been removed and that this is no longer considered an option.

64 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Q&A

bottom of page